Trying to embrace ‘Happy Monday’

Wow, talk about a long Monday. Nothing awful happened at school. I actually felt pretty good at the 5th grade social studies lesson I taught last minute. I’m stressing a bit about all the lesson planning I have to do for 6th grade for the rest of the week, but it’ll work out. (Right??)

 

I started my day with some quick abs/strength stuff. I’m talking like 7 minutes, which is about all I can ever muster at a time anyway. Then I squeezed in at least 2 fruit/veggie servings (maybe 3?) at breakfast with my green smoothie (which actually looked kinda black, but oh well) and english muffin with PB and banana. Also black tea and lots of water!

Image

 

I just love peanut butter. And I have to get it in at breakfast because we can’t eat it at school (too many allergies…sad life). 

Like I said, school was fine. The day started all gross and rainy, but it was GORGEOUS by the time recess rolled around. 

I got in 4 servings of fruits/veggies at school. Broccoli, carrots, bell peppers with hummus for snack (1), a big spinach salad with mushrooms and grilled chicken for lunch (at least 2), and an apple with some graham crackers in the afternoon (1). 

My plan was to go to the gym RIGHT after school, but I ended up driving a friend home, so I drove all the way back to Brighton and ran on the treadmill there. I ran 3.5 miles in 30 minutes exactly, but the screen disappeared before I could awkwardly snap a picture! So this was my face at the end:

Image

Then raced home for my crock pot recipe! This has to be at least 2 veggies per serving, too. (Recipe from Eat Live Run; see yesterday’s post for the link)

Image

That will feed me all week! And with some frozen leftovers. 

So yeah, lots to do tonight for school the rest of the week. It might be a late-ish night. I was a little stressed by the end of the day, but overall, I can’t complain. It was a pretty solid day for HBBC, so here’s my recap:

Fruits/veggies: 8 servings!! WOO! Gimme that point

Water: For sure. Probably had 3 nalgenes, so close to 100 oz. 

Exercise: 3.5 mile run for 3.5 points

Facebook: Started the thread today! 1 point

Total: 6.5 points

I probably won’t be able to make it to the gym tomorrow because I’m getting dinner with some teachers from school, but I’ll try to do some strength training in the AM to squeeze in at least one point. And I’m still hoping to grab that freggie point tomorrow! 

Here’s to a Happy Tuesday!!

What was your favorite game at recess? I was a huge fan of 4-square, but my kiddos can’t get enough basketball. 

 

Leave a Reply

