New focus

So it’s been a while! I haven’t been around since Thanksgiving, and I think that’s because the blog started to overwhelm me. There was (and still is!) SO MUCH I don’t know about blogging. I wanted to have lots of readers, but I was kind of embarrassed to tell my friends about the blog. I don’t know how to make a link part of a text so you just have to click on a word rather than see an ugly URL. My pictures kind of suck. I don’t really have a focus. I felt like I needed to comment on everybody else’s blog so that I could get people over here.

There was a lot! So I just stopped. But after having a few friends mention it over the weekend, I realized that I do miss it. I want an outlet where I can write and post dumb pictures. I want to share links to recipes and workouts that I really like. I want to have a record of my training for my second marathon. And right now, I honestly need a space for my head that isn’t tied to work.

With all that in mind, I’m going to work to figure out blogging for the next few weeks. Little things, like how to make my blog look better and how to include links the right way. Maybe I’ll never get to a point where I think about readership. Maybe this will just be a spot for me to ramble and be a little creative and a little different from my everyday self.

BUT since it has been so long, here are a few things I’m loving. (Apologies for the links…it’s the next thing on my to-do list, I swear!)

FOOD

Anne’s perfect microwave banana oatmeal (I’ve been topping mine with almond butter and shredded carrots. Weird, but awesome)

Spoons’ Soft and chewy protein granola bars (Mine kind of crumble apart…all the more excuse to eat bits and pieces all day, right?)

Soup in the crockpot using Neverhomemaker’s awesome tips (I almost feel like a chef!)

WORKOUTS

Running. Duh. I’m in week 2 of training for my second marathon! I had to be a little flexible already because of a trip to New York (which was unbelievably amazing) and a snowstorm, but I’m excited!

Yoga videos from Runnner’s World. I LOVE yoga, but it’s so expensive. These videos are quick and not too hard, so they’re perfect for after runs or for cross training.

The 7 minute workout! There’s a free iPhone app for it. It’s such a great way to quickly get in some strength training. I know it’s minimal, but anything that gets me to do a push-up is a win.

SONGS

Luke Bryan’s Play It Again

Kacey Musgraves’ Follow Your Arrow (which is so atypical of me because I usually hate female country singers. I know, the feminist inside me just did a mega eye roll, but it’s true.)

Pharrell Williams’ Happy (Just TRY not dancing to this one)

And anything from Frozen!

TV

THE MINDY PROJECT AHHHHHHHHHHHHH. I won’t ruin the surprise, but seriously, April 1?? What am I supposed to do until then?

Education related things

Diane Ravitch’s new book, Reign of Error. That will require its own post someday soon, I think.

Two websites about the importance of diversity in schools. This one is more about policy, and this one is a really cool site that spreads stories about grassroots efforts to promote diversity.

OK, friends, that’s it for now! I MAYBE FIGURED OUT THE LINK THING, GO FIGURE. Little goals 🙂

2 thoughts on “New focus

  1. I felt the same way when I started my blog! Like what was the point if no one read my posts but my mom?! But I stuck with it and slowly made blog friends, so I’m glad you’re back!
    OMG Mindy Project! I was practically jumping for joy over Danny, but I completely agree about feeling lost until April. Ughh 😦

    • You are too sweet! I’m excited to be back. Planning to take it slow for a while and just figure out what works for me. Fox did post a one minute clip of just the kiss!! Not gonna lie, I’ve watched it at least 10 times since Tuesday…

Leave a Reply

