Treadmill Tell-All!

I saw this fun – or lame, depending on who you ask 😉 – survey on Run With Jess’s blog today

I’ve actually never really been a treadmill hater, which I think is kind of shocking to most runners. But I think I suffered so much in high school and college when the treadmill was NEVER AN OPTION, regardless of weather, that it seems like a nice littler perk to me now! So here are my thoughts on the treadmill. Since obviously you were wondering.

1. What’s your favorite workout to do on a treadmill?

Ummm, just running? Sometimes I do a 3-2 workout, so 3 minutes faster/up tempo and 2 minutes a little slower. It helps break up the time, but I’m also pretty good at just zoning out and cruising for a while.

 

2. How many miles, on average, do you run on the mill each week? 

Right now, about half of them. I’m just starting the training plan for my second marathon, and I’m right around 30 miles a week. I’d say 15-18 of those are on the treadmill. I really don’t have many other options. I leave for school at 6:15am and don’t leave the building until 6:15 pm, so I have no daylight, and with temperatures sub-zero even with the sun, running in the cold is not appealing. So I hit the treadmill right after school most days of the week.

 

 3. What was the most mileage you’ve ever completed on the mill in one workout? When? Why?

I did 12 once during my last marathon training cycle. It was raining, I was a wimp, and I was watching Live with Regis and Kelly (you know, in the days before Michael).

 

4. Do you mill at home, the gym or both?

Just at the gym. I’d love to have one at home someday!

 

5. What distractions or entertainment (if any) do you use to help pass the time?

Music! I don’t listen to music when I run outside. My dad has me convinced that I’ll get hit by a car, kidnapped, and break my eardrums all at the same time if I run outside with headphones. But on the treadmill, I love it! The drop a beat workout on Spotify is my go-to. And if the treadmill has a TV, I usually put SportsCenter on just to have something to look at.

 

6. If you have a treadmill at home, what kind is it? How old is it? 

I don’t!

 

7. Do you fuel any differently for a treadmill workout than an outside one? 

Nope. I don’t like to eat or drink while running unless I’m well over 10 miles, and I rarely do that on the treadmill anyway.

 

8. Any treadmill mishaps to report? 

No! (Although now I feel the need to knock on wood.)

 

9. Do you mill at incline to compensate for not being outside? 

NO! This is actually one of my biggest pet peeves. I actually think it’s way harder to run on the treadmill! I’ve never understood why everyone says it’s easier. My paces are way faster outside without trying. Inclines just make me feel bad about myself. 

 

10. Describe your perfect (if there is such an animal) treadmill conditions: 

I would love to have a BIG GIANT TV right in front of it with all my favorite shows on demand. And movies. I’ve seen people post about movie room at their gyms, and I just think that is the coolest! I gotta find me one of those. 

 

On a non-running related note, here is the clip of JUST MINDY AND DANNY MAKING OUT. Sorry if you haven’t seen it yet, but seriously, it’s Thursday. Get it together. This is what I’ll be watching daily until April 1. Sighhhhh.

 

3 thoughts on “Treadmill Tell-All!

  1. Pingback: As Promised! |

Leave a Reply

