Thinking Out Loud 2

Happy Thursday, friends!

I’m linking up with Amanda for another Thinking Out Loud. Check out the other people who link up with her! It’s a great way to get inside someone’s head. Random thoughts are the best.

I’ll number mine because I can.

1. Dexter from This Lullaby is precious. I am a huge Sarah Dessen fan, but for some reason, I hadn’t saved my copy of This Lullaby when I went through a giant cleanse of YA/kid lit books a few years ago. I just borrowed it from the library to have on hand for emergency stress-relief reading, and damn was it good.

Image

2. I am in love with many a fictional man. Dexter is near the top right now, but Wes from The Truth About Forever will always be my #1 Dessen man. I also love Kevin from 27 Dresses, Ben from Parks and Rec, Matt Saracen from Friday Night Lights, Marcus from Sloppy Firsts, Coach Taylor from Friday Night Lights, Drew from Parenthood. And those are just the ones that pop to mind immediately. Sigh.

PicMonkey Collage

3. Random transition from swoon-fest. I’m digging this quote right now: “It’s always better to be at the bottom of the ladder you want to climb than the top of one you don’t.” I’ve been feeling frustrated and kind of unchallenged at work lately, but I know that in the end, I’m in the right field for me and I have the potential to climb. Remembering that will keep me going for the next few weeks, I hope.

4. Let’s throw in another quote, since I love them so much! (Side thought: I might have to make a page for my favorite quotes. I don’t have nearly enough pages. I think?) We’ll go with one from Amy Poehler: “No one looks stupid when they’re having fun.” A good reminder to go back to my dancing resolution for the month! Rock out to this one if you need a mood booster.

5. I pulled that song from a Spotify playlist called “Going Out” that I made in college. It is quite the eclectic mix. Some other gems: Blow by Ke$ha, Baby by the Biebs, Hot in Herre by Nelly, Juliet by LMNT, She Wolf by Shakira. Wahoooo take me back.

6. Stomach bugs are the worst. I had a snow day yesterday, but I stayed in bed all day because of a nasty virus going around school. The biggest perk: I watched all three High School Musicals. They’re awesome.

That’s it for me! Hope you’re having a great week!

12 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud 2

  1. I’ve never read any of Sarah Dessen’s books, but I’ve heard some pretty good things about them. I’m kind of in an in-between book limbo since finishing The Fault In Our Stars, so I might have to check them out — it’s always nice to have an easy relaxing read 🙂

  2. There was a sandwich place across the street from my old office – it was my most frequent lunch spot, and one of the guys who worked there looked so much like Saracen (that may or may not have been why I went there as often as I did). And I like both of those quotes! They’re both dead on.

  3. Ahh I’m in love with Ben from Parks & Rec too. That show is amazing and he is adorable. One of my favorite episodes might be the one with his bachelor party 🙂
    Also, She Wolf = great song.
    I hope you’re feeling better!

  4. Great qoutes. The ladder one hit me..I might be on top of a ladder I didn’t want to climb. But I’m not even sure myself..so yeah. Oof belly bugs can be such a downer..yayy for getting a good amount of watching done 🙂

  5. I love a light read with some quality Chick Lit. By the look of the Sarah Dessen cover, and the sounds of it, I’m guessing that what catagory her books fall into? If so I think I should definitely give them a try. I’m reading Lolita right now which is very bizarre and intense so I’ll definitely require a lighter book next.

    • Yep, it’s teen lit (which in my opinion is even better!) Love all her stuff. I’ve read Lolita before. Definitely takes your mind to deep places. I understand why it’s considered a classic, but I needed a huge break from serious books after reading it!

Leave a Reply

