Aches and Pains

I officially feel like I’m in the throes of marathon training. I did my first 16 mile run on Monday (barely…motivation was hard to find this weekend!), and my mid-week runs have been ramping up, too.

And I’m sore. And achy.

It comes with the territory, I know. I ended up doing a harder run today than I should have because I felt like I should replace my easy run with the long run I pushed off on Sunday (flawed logic, I know, but it always SEEMS like it makes more sense to replace the easy run). My quads are feeling it, my always tender shins are a little cranky. But a first for me: the arch on my right foot is sore!

I have never had plantar fascitis before, and I’ve never had any real foot problems save for the giant blister and/or black toenail. (I’ve actually had quite a few nasty blisters. I’m always weirdly proud of them).

But yeah, I’ve never had a sore bottom of my foot before. It’s weird. It doesn’t hurt first thing when I wake up, and according to the world of Google and WebMD, those are the telltale signs of legit plantar fascitis. Something is for sure up, though. My foot is tender during runs and then usually sore after.

I’m icing, which is something I avoid like the plague. I hate it. HATE IT. Especially in the winter! Who wants ice anywhere on their body when it’s snowing outside?? Not me, that’s who.

I really don’t want this to turn into something serious, though, so I’ve been alternating rolling my foot with a tennis ball and icing. And then my sister had the genius idea of putting the tennis ball IN THE FREEZER. Ice and rolling in one! It’s a unique form of torture, but it seems to be helping out.

I’m also thinking about getting new shoes. I broke the cardinal first rule of running and tried a different shoe than my always faithful Asics GT-2000s, and I can’t help but think that’s the main source of the problem. I veered away from my faves because they’re just so pricey, and with my car situation and being an almost-teacher, money is ALWAYS on my mind. But it might be time to bite the bullet and go back to the shoes I know work for me.

Anyway, fingers are crossed that this is a big ol’ nothing. But it never is with running, is it?

What do you do when you have a minor injury? Any advice for me? Favorite shoes?

15 thoughts on “Aches and Pains

    • Yeah, I’m thinking I’ll try spinning tomorrow instead of my scheduled 8 mile run. And then Friday is a day off anyway. So hopefully that will help? It’s so easy for me to give other people advice when they’re injured, but when it comes to me, I always just try to convince myself that it’s fine πŸ™‚

  1. Oh no! I hope it’s nothing. I’m in the middle of an injury battle right now and it just about sucks worse than anything ever. And I hate icing too, but it has been a necessary evil. Sending you lots of good foot vibes! I am a Brooks gal myself, but I think I might be making a switch to Mizunos.

  2. Oh no!! A running injury is never fun! I dealt with my first one training for my first marathon as well, and two things fixed it: 1. new shoes 2. rest. Neither of which I wanted to do, but I ended up feeling GREAT for my marathon when three weeks out I really doubted if I”d be able to even complete it!! Icing is great too! Keep up that frozen tennis ball torture! You’ll be better in no time, fingers crossed!!

  3. Eek, not cool 😦 I’ve never had PF, but from what I understand, to really recover from it, you can not run. Like at all. But maybe that’s only once it’s official. Hopefully you can fend off whatever it is that’s plaguing your foot. My fingers are crossed that you’ll be able to stop icing soon!
    I ran in Wave Riders for 10 years before I tried my Kinvaras and Pure Flows- but now I love my shoes and can’t imagine going back to the wave riders. Change doesn’t necessarily mean a bad thing πŸ™‚

  4. The moment I feel a twinge of something ‘not right’ I do RICE. Rest, ice compression and elevation. It’s a simple thing but it works. Depending on what it is, I will also trade a run or two for cross training. I used to get really worked up about missing runs, but now I have learned that it’s better to miss 2 runs than 2 months of running if it turned into something, ya know?

  5. I know it is hard to do but REST! Whenever I start having bad longs accompanied with aches and pains I take a couple days off and I’m like a brand new person when I head out for a run! I love my Mizuno Wave Riders. I used to have a ton of foot pain until I started running in them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

